

Indira Gandhi National Open University School of Translation Studies and Training

Minutes of 19th Meeting of School Board, SOTST

With the approval of the Vice-Chancellor, an emergent Meeting (19th) of the School Board. School of Translation Studies & Training was held on 08th July, 2016 at 12.00 noon in the Conference Room of SOTST, IGNOU. The following were present in the meeting:

<u>.</u> 1.	Dr. Rajendra Prasad Pandey, Director, SOTST	Chairperson
2.	Prof. Avadhesh Kumar Singh, SOTST	Member Member Member
3.	Prof. Neeti Agrawal, SOMS	
	Dr. Sonia Sharma, SOTHSM	
	Dr. Jagdish Sharma, SOTST	
6	Dr. Jyoti Chawla, SOTST Dr. Harish Kumar Sethi, SOTST	Member
		Special Invitee
′.		Member-Convene

Newly nominated members i.e. Prof. Jaideep Sharma and Dr. V.V. Subramanyam could not attend the meeting because of their preoccupations.

At the outset the Chairperson welcomed the members to the 19th meeting of SOTST School Board. He thanked the members for making it convenient to attend the meeting.

He also welcomed the new members from the campus other than the School, particularly who were present in the meeting, viz. Prof. Neeti Agrawal. SOMS and Dr. Sonia Sharma, SOTHSM, and expressed the hope that they will contribute significantly to the School Board meetings in future.

He expressed his gratitude to outgoing Board Members from the campus viz. Prof. Anu J. Thomas, SOGDS; Dr. J.K. Srivastava, SOH; Dr. Ramesh Yadav, SOJNMS; and Dr. Md. Salim, SOFL, whose term ended on 29th November, 2015, for their invaluable contribution made to the School Board meetings. He also thanked the Faculty members as well as the University authorities for nominating distinguished persons to the School Board from the campus.

The following agenda item was placed before the School Board for consideration and approval.

S.B. 19.1: To co-opt the External Members for the School Board of School of Translation Studies and Training under Clause 2(e) of Statute 10A of the University.

The Chairman informed the School Board that the term of the following External Members, who were co-opted by the School Board of SOTST under Clause 2(e) of

279

Statute 10A vide Notification No. IG/ACD/SB-SOTST/2008/1236 dated 05 June, 2014 ended on 4th June, 2016:

- 1. Prof. Nityanand Tiwari
- 2. Prof. Asad-ud-ddin
- 3. Prof. Radha Vallabh Tripathi
- 4. Dr. Leeladhar Mandloi
- 5. Prof. T.V. Kattimani

Further, the Chairman informed the School Board that since the term of the above listed External Members ended on 4th June, 2016, the new members are to be coopted in their place. Before proposing the item, the Chairman expressed higgratitude to aforementioned members for their cooperation and guidance.

Though approval of the School Board members for co-option of new External Members was obtained through circulation, it is mandatory to hold the meeting of the School Board for co-option of the External Members as per the Statute of the University.

The item is placed before the School Board for consideration and approval please.

The School Council of SOTST in its meeting held on 27-4-2016 has recommended the following names for co-option as External Members of the School Board of SOTST. The names were presented to the School Board for consideration and approval.

- 1. Prof. Ganesh N Devy Chair, Peoples Linguistic Survey of India, Padam Sanmati, Shanti Sagar Society, Near Airtech Industry, Dedgaon Road Dharwad – 580005 Karnataka
- Prof. Shashi Prabha Kumar Vice-Chancellor University of Buddhist Studies Sanchi Madhya Pradesh
- 3. Prof. Nand Kishore Pandey
 Chairman
 Council of Scientific and Technical Terminology
 MHRD (Govt. of India)

R.K. Puram Sector-1 New Delhi

- 4. Prof. P.C. Tandon
 Department of Hindi
 University of Delhi
 Delhi
- Prof. Syed Ali Karim alias Irtaja Karim Director
 National Council for Promotion of Urdu Language Farogh-e-Urdu Bhavan F.C. 33/9
 Institutional Area Jalok
 New Delhi – 110025

The Members of the School Board considered and approved the proposed names for co-option as new External Members of the School Board.

- S.B. 19.2 Any other item with the permission of the Chair.
- S.B.19.2.1 Approval of Name of Mr. Ajay Kumar Singh, Documentation Officer, Rashtriya Sanskrit Sansthan, New Delhi as Translator for translating MATS Units from English to Hindi.

In view of emergent situation arising out of printing urgency of MTT 16 and 19 Units of MATS programme, Mr. Ajay Kumar Singh was asked to translate a Unit of MTT-19. Hence, it is proposed that the name of Mr. Ajay Kumar Singh may be included in the panel of translators for MATS programme.

The agenda item is placed before the School Board for its consideration and approval.

The Members of the School Board considered and approved the name of Mr. Ajay Kumar Singh for inclusion in the panel of translators for MATS programme.

S.B.19.2.2 Clarification on Marking Scheme for Evaluation of Dissertation and Vivavoce for the Award of M.Phil. Degree.

Evaluation methodology and marking scheme for M.Phil./Ph.D. Course Work and evaluation of dissertation for the award of M.Phil. degree was sent to SED. However, a clarification was needed for evaluation of dissertation and viva-voce of M.Phil. programme. The M.Phil. programme consists of 4 theory courses of 8

the free to the same of the sa

credits each which has marking system as given in the methodology. Besides the 4 theory courses, there is also a component of dissertation consisting of 16 credits with a distribution of 150 marks for evaluation of dissertation and 50 marks for viva-voce (total 200 marks). 50% in each component is required for award of the degree.

The clarification is required to be sent to SED.

A copy of the approved methodology and desired clarification is placed before the School Board.

The agenda item is placed before the School Board for its consideration and approval.

The Members of the School Board considered and approved the agenda item as proposed by the School.

The Chairman expressed gratitude to all the School Board Members for their participation in the meeting and for their inputs for improvement in the academic activities of the School.

The Chairman expressed gratitude to Dr. Jagdish Sharma, for rendering the services as the Convener of the School Board.

Dr. Harish Kumar Sethi, Convener, thanked all the Members of the School Board for making it convenient to attend the Meeting at a short notice.

The meeting ended with expression of gratitude to and from the Chair.

(Rajendra Prasad Pandey)

Director

SATERIAL A TATA INDUNCTOR IS OF STO